Thanksgiving Similes and Metaphors

The sky was a grey elephant outside my window = metaphor

The breeze was a soft kiss on my cheek = metaphor

Leaves swirled around the yard like a tornado = simile

My dad was sweating like a pig in the hot kitchen = simile

Mom’s face was as red as a tomato = simile

Mom asked me to scurry like a squirrel to the store for more bread rolls =  simile

“Hurry back as quick as a wink” mom added= simile

The store was a zoo when my brother and I arrived= metaphor

The bread aisle was as empty as a pit= simile

“I wish they had more. Those rolls taste like heaven,” my brother said= simile

When we returned home, the house was as warm as in oven= simile

Soon, our relatives began to trickle in like raindrops= simile

When the food was ready, grandpa said, “this meal is a feast=metaphor

After we ate, we played football in the backyard like MVPs= Simile

We where babies asleep in our beds on thanksgiving night= metaphor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *